Our annual Gala is a major fundraising event and an opportunity for community building. Each year, we honor a member of our community with the Spark Award and celebrate their accomplishments and contributions to The Shlenker School. 

We are excited to announce our 2020 Spark Award Recipient, Dana Yudovich Katz!

This year, we will also be honoring two members of our Shlenker Parent Association with the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Volunteer of the Year Award. We hope you will join us.

2020 Shlenker Gala Tickets, Tables, and Donations


2020 Spark Award Recipient 

Dana Yudovich Katz

Dana Yudovich Katz is a parent of a Shlenker student and two Shlenker graduates. Dana’s dedication to The Shlenker School started in 2011 when her son, David, began kindergarten. During her time at Shlenker, she has served on the Board of Trustees as well as the board of the Shlenker Parents Association.

Dana has also previously served on the Boards of Trustees of Congregation Beth Yeshurun and The Jewish Federation. In recent years, she has been a member of the Women’s Cabinet of the Jewish Federation, a committee member of the Houston Jewish Community Foundation, and a volunteer with the Women’s Circle of The Shul of Bellaire. She serves on the Emery/Weiner School Parents Association Board and is also a proud member of the Houston Yiddish Vinkl.

Dana is a past recipient of the UOS Goldberg Montessori School Volunteer Recognition Award and The Federation’s Barbara and Harold Falik Young Leadership Award.

Dana was born and raised in Houston, graduated from The University of Texas and then from Northwestern University with a Masters in speech-language pathology. Prior to becoming a full time mother to her three children, Dana worked for HISD as a bilingual speech-language pathologist with pre-school and school-aged children and also at The Institute for Rehabilitation and Research in Houston. 

Dana enjoys traveling and photography, and above all, being with her extended family and friends.

Past Spark Award Recipients

2013 Deborah Sondock
2014 Debbie and Rick Kaplan
2015 Sunni and Gary Markowitz
2016 Shantel and David Ferdman
2017 Rabbi Samuel E. Karff
2018 Ricki Komiss
2019 Leslie Margolis